The reason why I think Art School is Bullshit…

Okay, first off I would like to state, before anyone gets shitty, that art school can be quite beneficial in a lot of scenarios. For people who want to learn art history or art theory, people who want the art school experience, to meet others interested in art, for very serious artists, etc etc etc. BUT I think that it is bullshit that some art careers (excluding art theorists and historians etc.) require a degree. Graphic design, for example. My reasoning is that if you know how to do it, and you do it well then WHY MUST YOU HAVE A DAMN DEGREE. If YOU want to go to Art School, that’s great and I mean NO disrespect. I just don’t think it should be required in some art careers.

That’s something that really bothers me. Art is not a formula that you calculate and end up with art. No. Art is a skill and a talent that requires technique, emotions, and your soul. Your soul goes into art. That’s a reason why I think a lot of people, like me, are very attached and protective of our art. For example, I hoard my sketchbook. I do NOT let anyone flip through my sketchbook. Anybody who does without permission is a serious goddamn offender. That’s because some things are so personal and from such a private part of my mind that the idea of exposing it freaks me out. And I know that art school is probably a wonderful thing for some. But to me it just sounds… I don’t know, like mainstreaming. God I sound like such an emo kid. Okay not mainstreaming, how about… conforming? Shit I sound like a hipster know it all. Fuck it, you know what I mean.

Anyway. I am just a regular old person working a minimum wage job in a rural part of the US. I want badly to get a career in art doing the type of art I love. But after a lot of research, you need a degree to really make something out of it UNLESS you have a fuck ton of money to start your own business. And I don’t. And I don’t have the money to go to art school and I don’t NEED to go to art school simply because I am self taught. So yeah. Rant over. Sorry about that, its been on my mind because the job situation is bleak at the moment (retail plus holidays equals HELL)  but really, isn’t any job bleak unless you’re doing what you love? Thanks for reading, sorry it was pretty damn negative HAVE A GOOD DAY!!! ~~Amber~~

 

Leave a Reply

