The Beauty & Style Files: Grunge

grunge

Welcome back to The Beauty & Style Files. Today I drew inspiration from the 90s a.k.a. The Grunge Era. I have always loved the music of the 90s and I grew up in the 90s, so it was easy for me to come up with this style file.

grunge-eye-2

Back in the 90s eye makeup was a lottttt more simple than it is now. Fuck the falsies and the intricate liner, Grunge is all about the smoky rocker look made up of warm toned shades and kohl liner. The eyeshadow in the center top picture was done by Lora Arellano and she got the grunge look to a ‘t’. For eyeshadow I knew right away that the gorgeous shades in the Melt Cosmetics Shadow Stack in ‘Dark Matter’ $48 via/p.c.o. meltcosmetics.com. would be PERFECT for a grunge look. The drugstore option I chose was one of my all time favorites, I have raved about it in multiple posts. Covergirl Eye Enhancers Quad in ‘Coffeeshop’ $3.99 via/p.c.o. amazon.com. Now after applying the rusty hues it’s time to smoke the hell out of your look with some kohl liner. High end we have the MAC Technakohl Liner in GraphBlack $17 via/p.c.o. macys.com and drugstore we have the Maybelline Master Kajal Liner $6.99 via.p.c.o. target.com. Now go to a gig & (pearl) Jam all night- see what I did there? If not I’m not sure if we can be friends. Google it!

grungelip

When I do lip color, I do 90s inspired lip colors. From rusty reds to deep plums- I adore the shades. Think vampy rock’n’roller and you have the right idea. High end is the Smashbox Always On Liquid Lipstick in ‘Miss Conduct’ $24 via/p.c.o. smashbox.com, a dark raspberry shade that makes me eyegasm. Drugstore is the Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid Lipstick in ‘Possessed Plum’ $6.99 via/p.c.o. target.com, this ultra deep plum is the epitome of 90s.

grungeskin2

Back in the 90s strobing and contouring and all that jazz was not a thing. Instead was matte flawless skin that didn’t compete with the gorgeous velvet shades on the eyes and lips. High end is the famous Urban Decay All Nighter Foundation $40 via/p.c.o. belk.com, perfect for a night dancing to Soundgarden. Drugstore is another one of my favorites, Maybelline Fit Me Foundation Matte & Poreless $7.99 via/p.c.o. Maybelline.com for an affordable but still flawless finish

grungestyle

I am IN LOVE with this outfit. Such a casual rockstar vibe… Plaid Tunic: Beach Lunch Lounge Elyse Plaid Frayed Hem Shirt $29.97 via/p.c.o. nordstromrack.com Jeans: H&M Boyfriend Low Trashed Jeans $29.99 via/p.c.o. h&m.com Top: PressThreads Sacred Geometry Crop Top $20 via/p.c.o. etsy.com Boots: American Rag Faylln Combat Booties $35.99 via/p.c.o. macys.com. Dem boots though…. added to my wishlist. And how cool is that crop top??!!

There you have it! I hope you enjoyed this style file and if you have any ideas for another one PLEASE comment your ideas down below so I can make them come to life. As always thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and have an awesome day!!~~ Much Love, Amber

 

Leave a Reply

