Flawless Face Routine Updated for the Winter Months 2016

With each turn of the season also come the rotation of products that are appropriate for the time of the year. In summer months I use more lightweight products and more colorful shades but when Winter rolls around it’s time for some heavy duty attention to my drying skin. I made an entire post dedicated for the Winter months and you can read it here: A Broke Girl’s Skincare Routine for the Winter Months

I wish so badly I had a camera so that I could show you step by step how I do it but I’m going to have to rely on description  For those of you who don’t know, my phone died a watery death about a month ago because I am cursed when it comes to electronics. Sorry if this takes away from the post for you but I promise to describe it all as well as I can.

BeFunky Collage231.jpg

  1. SMOOTH CANVAS: If there is one thing you take from my Winter Skincare post let it be this: EXFOLIATION!! If you’re skin gets dry and flaky like me, this is the key. If I don’t exfoliate before I apply my makeup when it’s Winter then the products I use look so weird where they gather on the dry patches. And I look like a mutated circus freak. Exfoliating sloughs my dead skin and reveals a brighter complexion. To exfoliate I either use a cotton cloth dampened with warm water and cleanser or St. Ive’s Apricot Scrub.
  2. HYDRATE: Second most important Skincare tip is MOISTURE MOISTURE MOISTURE. After exfoliating you NEED to sooth and rehydrate your skin or it will just get flaky all over again. I have found my new Winter Holy Grail skin product: Tarte Maracuja Oil. I got a sample in my Ipsy bag (about to do a review post on each product I received from Ipsy this month, keep an eye out!) and immediately fell in love. Before I apply makeup I massage a few drops (that’s all you need) all over my face and neck and let it absorb into my skin for a few minutes.
  3. PRIME: My skin gets pretty picky in cold weather. Every inch of my face is dry and scaly BUT my nose stays oily all. year. long. So I have to be careful with the way I prime. For my nose and only my nose I use a sample (because I’m a broke bitch) of Benefits Porefessional Primer. This really reduces my pores and controls shine. And for the rest of my face I use Maybelline’s Face Studio Master Prime in Blur & Illuminate to give my dull skin a radiant glow.
  4. CONCEAL: Okay. I’m gonna be honest here. I don’t conceal correctly. I had bought an Elf brand concealer and it was SO disappointing (read about it here: WORST DRUGSTORE MAKEUP) and since then I haven’t bought another concealer to test out. I’ve been instead using the highlight end of my Wet n Wild MegaGlo Dual Ended Contour Stick. I’m super pale and this is one of the only things I have at the moment pale enough to use as a highlight. So I use it to cancel out my dark under eyes and the discoloration on my eyelids. It can be a difficult to blend but when this happens I put a single drop of the Tarte oil on my sponge and it blends like a dream. Don’t judge me. If you do, then feel free to buy me a damn concealer. Just sayinnnn’
  5. Foundation & Blending: I have found one drugstore foundation that works for me. That is the Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless Foundation. (If you have any drugstore suggestions comment below!) and I have stuck with it for over a year now. I like that I can build it up from medium coverage to full coverage without it looking cakey. To apply I use my Real Techniques Blending sponge, damp, and blending with dabbing motions all over the face. Once I bought this sponge I put down my foundation brush forever. This sponge NEVER streaks or makes my foundation look noticeable, it is my go to.
  6. SCULPT: When it comes to contouring I prefer powder. I like the Wet n Wild MegaGlo Contour Powder Palette in Caramel Toffee. I just suck in my cheeks and go in the shape of a 3 (along my temples, below cheekbone, and along the jaw) blending well with my Elf Contouring brush. To highlight I get back out my Wet n Wild MegalGlo Dual Ended Contour Stick and create upside down triangles beneath my eyes, along tops of cheekbone, center of forehead, chin, and tip of the nose and blend like there is no tomorrow. I rarely use blush but if I do I am very light handed to avoid the clown look.
  7. Make it Last All Night Long: To do this I get out my Elf HD Loose Powder in Translucent. I love this stuff, it makes my makeup last and really seems to polish it off perfectly. I apply all over, really concentrating on the under eyes because that is where makeup is most likely to crease on me.
  8. HIGHLIGHT: To further illuminate the face I love Elf Baked Highlight in Moonlit Pearl. I dust it on the very tops of my cheekbones and on the Cupid’s bow of my lips.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and found it helpful to tell what adjustments you might need to make if your skin is anything like mine. Comment below and tell me what you think or if there are any products I should try out soon!! Much Love, Amber

2 thoughts on “Flawless Face Routine Updated for the Winter Months 2016

Leave a Reply

