Why I’m Quitting Foundation

I remember feeling lucky in middle and high school because while most of my friends suffered from acne and redness, my skin was clear with just the occasional blemish. But in the past few years the trends and techniques that have come out involve quite a bit of product, including a mask of foundation. And I, being the makeup obsessed girl I am, joined right in. With the heavy foundation came concealer, bronzer etc. That shit adds up and takes a toll on your skin. Within just a couple years my skin has become more prone to breakouts, redness plagues me, and texture has become a daily struggle no matter how much exfoliating I do. So now I’m in a loop. I apply more product to hide the flaws and in turn I make it worse. And I’m tired of the loop.

I love the gorgeous glam looks that are common today but I want to take a major player out of my skin entourage so that I don’t feel as if I have to wear it. While concealer will still be used to cover blemishes, and temporarily redness, my hopes are that soon even that won’t be necessary. It’s kind of an experiment but at the same time I want to take better preventative measures for my skin. I am a smoker, so I’m already doing enough damage in the aging department. 

I also want to start using better products on my skin, taking the time to use masks on a regular basis and using natural ingredients instead of chemicals. I’m one of those people who tries to forgoe even tylenol when I have a headache and looks into natural remedies instead of taking prescribed drugs. So it should be a given that that is something I take into account with my skincare, but it hasn’t been. Being on the budget that I am, I usually just grab the cheapest thing and spend my money on an eye-shadow instead (I’m addicted). But I believe that I should invest in my skin. So now I’m going to turn the tables. I’m typically giving my beauty advice on my blog, but today I’d like some advice from you! Do you have a recommendation for some good natural and CHEAPISH skincare products? Lemme know in the comments I would appreciate it sooo much! Does anyone else want to free themselves from foundation? Lemme know and we can compare results together! As always, take care of yourself and Much Love- Amber

2 thoughts on “Why I’m Quitting Foundation

  1. Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Serum did wonders for my skin! It’s also pretty good on the wallet.

    Be forewarned that you should go slow with new skincare, though, as piling on a bunch of new products at once can even make your skin freak out. I learned that the hard way lol! I gave myself cosmetic acne by trying too many new products at once (1% hydrocortisone cream is perfect for that if a new product irritates your skin btw). I also love Clinique’s liquid facial soap and Pacifica Cactus Water micellar cleansing tonic. Micellar waters are always a good bet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay thanks so much! I’ll definitely try those and be careful, god knows I don’t need to further irritate my skin! Haha I appreciate the recommendations 🙂 I’ve been kind of clueless when it comes to skincare so every bit helps!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

