Product Police! Kylie, Kat Von D, Wet n Wild, Too Faced, & Elf

Hey!! Welcome backto my blog! So usually I post reviews and post about products I recommend etc. But I’m mixing it up a bit. Makeup is a thriving industry and all the time new products are being churned out and us addicts swoon over all of them. But sometimes it’s best to really think it through. Packaging, gimmicks, and hype often fuel a lot of our decisions, leaving us with unused products and wasted money. I’d like to say that these are my opinions and you are free to do as you please. But anyway, this is a new series I’m going to do where I share why I won’t be purchasing these products.

Too Faced Peanut Butter & Honey Palette

Okay. It’s cute, just like all of Too Faced’s products. But really this isn’t necessary. The warm browns featured in the palette can be find in pretty much in any other palette and this is exactly like their PB&J palette but with a couple ‘honey’ shades instead of ‘jelly’. I honestly think that if you’re dying for the looks you can create with this, just use your other brown shadows and just purchase a single of that one unique color. Because that’s really all it is, a basic palette with one kinda unique, but not really, color. Not hatin’ just statin’.

Wet n Wild Mega Cushion Contour

I love Wet n Wild, let’s get that straight I rave about their products all the time. But let me just ask a question. WHY can they produce a mediocre foundation with a huge range of shades but only one contour shade?? I wanted this so bad, I’ve seen it reviewed multiple times and it looks amazing, blends to perfection etc. But I’ve also seen that it’s too dark for very fair skin. It makes me sad like why did you do this to me Wet n Wild?? Haha but honestly this looks great for medium skin. I just don’t understand why they’re limiting their audience so much with a product that could be great. Whateva 

Kat Von D Pastel Goth Palette

When I first head she was going to be releasing a pastel goth themed palette I was pumped. I love that aesthetic, I find it beautiful. But I was so disappointed when I saw this. And I’m not the only one, apparently a lot of people were. Kat claimed later that she had meant pastel in the way of artist’s pastels that you draw with. But… I’m an artist and there are pastels that are….pastel. So…? But it wasn’t just that, a lot of reviews said the shadows were kind of chalky, etc so I just don’t see the point. And no pink? No pink in a pastel palette… *cries*

Kylie’s Diary

Okay. Look, I’m just going to be straight up and say that I’m just not into the Kylie brand thing. I mean no disrespect towards her but I feel they’re overpriced and overhyped. And it feels like you’re paying more for the name than the quality. I don’t know, this whole diary thing just feels gimmicky and child-like and I don’t dig it personally. You do you though, but I know a hundred other brands I would splurge on.

Elf Concealers

I have tried a couple of Elf concealers and I just.. No. They oxidize, have no coverage, and look patchy. Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me… And you. But really, I love Elf as a brand I just don’t like their concealers. Keeping it real

Well that’s all for this Product Police! I hope you enjoyed it, if you did please follow my blog for more posts like this. And again, I don’t mean any disrespect these are just my own opinions. Have a great day &&  Much Love- Amber

Leave a Reply

