My Concealer Calamity

So as you guys know I recently quit wearing foundation and now instead opt to just use concealer on my problem areas. My skin was quickly improving. Until about a week and a half ago. 
As I’ve mentioned in previous posts I am a huge fan of the Maybelline Fit Me concealer (and the foundation before I quit) due to it’s creamy consistency and buildable coverage. I had most recently purchased one in January so it’s just two months old. At first it was great and quickly made it’s way to my holy grail status. But then a couple weeks ago I noticed that when I would put it on my under eyes there would be a burning sensation until it dried down. At first I figured maybe I was reacting to one of the many new products that I bought around that time because I had also gotten a corrective concealer that I would apply first. So I cut that out of my routine to see if it made a difference.

It didn’t. I removed my makeup one day to discover intense redness, bumps, and patches of scaly skin all over my face. Needless to say I flipped out. I put myself on a no makeup ban until it healed, and applying fresh aloe to the different spots that had appeared. Once I felt okay putting product on again I decided to leave my face bare and put just the tiniest dot of my Fit Me concealer on my under eyes and sure enough-stinging pain. 

I don’t know what happened. The foundation from that line never irritated my skin, the concealer didn’t until very suddenly, it’s not expired, and honestly my skin isn’t very sensitive. I’ve never had a reaction to anything (other than cats 😭) in my life. Since I stopped using it my skin has cleared up and redness is just about nonexistent. But I am sad that I had to demote my holy grail to leper status. Maybe it was from a bad batch? I don’t know it just confuses me as to why it just recently started bothering me after buying it two months ago.

On the bright side this means that I get to experiment with other concealers and report to you guys what works and what doesn’t. I do have the Wet n Wild Concealer Makeup Stick that has good coverage and a nice dewy finish but the lightest shade just isn’t fair enough for me to use on my face, instead I use it as a base on my eyes to cover discoloration and for eye-shadow to adhere to. So now the search must go on!

Thanks so much for reading and as always Take Care of Yourself & Much Love- Amber

Leave a Reply

