March Favorites-Books+Music+Beauty+Art

Hey everyone!! So I’ve decided that I’m going to start including more than just beauty products to my favorites posts and possibly posts in general, such as books, music, art, etc. I really like all of these things can relate and inspire the others. And they’re all things I’m really passionate about. So why not share? 

Books:

  • ‘The Bazaar of Bad Dreams’ by Stephen King This is his latest collection of short stories which I love because the first book I ever read by King was also like that. It never ceases to amaze me how he manages to, in a matter of a few pages mind you, tell a gripping story, make you feel as if you’ve known the characters for years, and how no matter what the subject is you can tell it was written by him.
  • ‘Pharmakon’ by Dirk Wittenborn This book blew me away. It’s the fictional story based in the 50s of what happens when, on the verge of medical breakthrough, a man does a study testing the effects of the first ever anti depressant. And how things go horribly wrong. I was skeptical at first because I didn’t know if I would enjoy this kind of topic but the psychological aspect is so interesting and I literally sat and read the whole thing cover to cover in two days. So amazing.

Music

Album of the Month: Led Zeppelin IV


I have loved Zeppelin since childhood where it played on my parent’s stereo every weekend as we all hung out and spent time with each other. The lyrics are like poetry and the flow of the album is beautiful. Please give it a listen.

Song of the Month: ‘The House of the Rising Sun’ by The Animals

Source: giphy.com
This is such a haunting classic that I never tire of. No matter how many times I hear it I always get chills. 

Discovery of the Month: Myah Alanna

Source: Myah’s Instagram @myahalanna
 I stumbled on this green haired girl on YouTube earlier this month and have officially binge watched all of her covers. She gives amazingly emotional renditions of popular songs as well as her own, and her personality is both kind and blunt when discussing topics she feels passionately about. Check her out on YouTube and Instagram.

    Art

    Product of the Month: When it comes to sketch books I am incredibly picky. Since I work with mostly pencils (sketch, colored, and charcoal pencils) I prefer very coarsely textured paper so that the product really gets into the fibers and I don’t run the risk of smearing (well, as much). I’ve been keeping an eye out for an inexpensive sketchbook with good paper and that was aesthetically pleasing. A tall order, I know. But I was pleasantly surprised when I found this red hardback book at Walmart for about $7. The paper is good quality and it’s nice looking book for the price.Dahler Rowney Hardback Sketchbook, available at Walmart

    Beauty

     OGX Coconut Curls Curl Styling Milk: As a girl with long frizzy waves that tangle in a matter of seconds, I’m constantly on the lookout for something to, well, stop all that shit. This stuff is amazing. I apply it after I get out of the shower and then brush it throughout my hair (avoiding the roots) and not only does it make it easier to brush, it also makes my hair soooo soft. Anytime I feel frizzy i squirt half a pump  and run it through my hair and WHAM- gone. 

    Wet n Wild Coverall Correcting Palette: I have fallen in love with this product. I use the yellow to hide my under eyes and e green for redness. Once blended out it covers up with regular concealer and I feel as if I need Less products because my imperfections are already hidden. And it’s $4 💜💜

    Elf Aqua Beauty Radiant Gel Lip Tint in Dewy Berry: DAMN I WANT MORE SHADES!! I’m a bit obsessed with this stain. It flatters my thin lips much more than a lipstick and looks so fresh and natural for spring. I like to dab a bit of balm on top to make my lips look fuller but still natural. Which brings me to my next favorite.

    Wet n Wild Gel Lip Liner in Bare to Comment: For the days I’m really craving a full lip look, I subtly over line my lips, and fill in with this awesome liner. I also mentioned this in my most recent Ultimate Beauty Products $5 & under. The formula is smooth and pigmented (and puts their pencil liners to shame). It looks amazing alone or under nude and pink lipsticks. This warm rosy nude is just right for it to look good on all skin tones. And I feel this is the best lipliner for over lining my lips because of how easy it is to apply, no tugging or scratchy wood. 

    Did you guys like this idea? I really enjoyed sharing these things I love in and outside of the beauty community Please leave me some feedback i love the hear it!💖💜💖  Take Care of Yourself & Much Love, Amber

    Leave a Reply

    